Snapshot

In short what has changed, progressed in my life in two years –

  • Reva is five years old and in Year 1, has two wobbly teeth, started playing piano, can write her own songs and can sing any conversation in a proper tune, has participated in five plays on the stage so far, can swim easily on back and is a duckling on swimming on her tummy, avid colourer (never use same color in a picture), big fan of Frozen and other princesses – would love to grow her hairs like Rapunzel, don’t want to ride her bike without stabilizer anymore, though she is not into much physical activities but learning to do splits and somersault! she hides when she see couples kissing or holding their hand together or getting MARRIED!, she can do two digit sums, subtraction, fluently read her school reading books, shops sign boards, labels, menu cards in the restaurant, can write the words and sentences using phonetics sounds (almost correctly!), proud sister of her little brother, she prefer his toys over her these days, love to listen songs and dance – favorite at the moment is Nach lo sare – gu phade ke! –

2015/01/img_2014-0.jpg

  • Viraj turned 14 months, he has developed great motor skills and hand coordination, going to be a foodie like dad and love playing piano with her sister (Didi), like to copy Reva all the time – follow her, want to snatch whatever she is doing or playing with, the best thing is to see him smile as soon as he see his big sister after having serious and big cry! Recently started loving music – like Didi his fav song is G-Phade ke (ahaaa!), love to watch Peppa pig and Thomas and friends –  I must say that all these years I was under impression that toy cars, trains are over rated by toy companies to promote their products as child as little as 5-6 months is not smart enough to understand what HE likes or SHE likes –  turned out 32 year old Mum is a dumb!! From the very  start I saw Viraj’s inclination towards wheels, he can pretend anything with the wheel and can ride it along – be it a small car, teethers, Reva’s dolls, mummy’s iPhone 5 S, TV remote, slippers – anything which can ride on the carpet is good enough to play.

2015/01/img_2016-0.jpgO Boy! where the time flies, I meant to dedicate a seperate post for both but think I have to go with the flow and capture as the moments come. I still plan to post some earlier and memorable incidents for sure…

A lot has changed with me as well, it was a real tie what to choose first – Viraj’s birth or loosing 30 pounds last year! A real tough one 😦 Alright alright…! I choose Viraj’s birth. He was born 4 weeks early but he was a healthy boy and touchwood stayed up to date with his growth. I don’t know what caught me but I decided to change myself or shall we say work upon myself this time – was carrying my overly weight for so long and it was time I leave those silly excuses behind and do something real good in my maternity leave other than being stay at home (no offence to SAHM please). For the motivation I joined Weight Watchers and it really worked for me. I lost 30 pounds in almost four months. I can proudly say that it was the best moment of my life – I was feeling more confident and after so long was really feeling good about myself!

My office was 52 miles from home, though it was a hell lot of traveling but I was able to manage, my lovely manager gave me full flexibility in the work and it was going perfect until I joined back work after my maternity leave last April. Managing kids after two hours of exhausting drive from work or even if I was working from home there were so much other things to handle – school runs, partially looking after Viraj, what to cook, what to clean, and WORK. Though I hired a nanny but when you are home we mother don’t have IGNORE buttons – you have to run when your little one cry or not feeling well or what if Reva needs pickup from school urgently! Though Vishal was also working from home when I go office but travelling so far wasn’t ideal so after thinking it through a lot I have changed my job last November [sigh]. Was a good move though but I wasn’t much happy about it – I kind of gelled in my previous job, was comfortable and in a good position. Nevertheless it is going well now, transition is slow but now I am feeling alright.

Vishal has gone through a lot in past six months, MIL diagnosed with cancer. He travelled to India during summer holidays for three weeks to support them when she was first diagnosed. Thanks God it was on its initial stage and timely caught. It took more than two and a half months for radio therapy to be started. He is still in India for last five weeks helping MIL to recover, will be back shortly. I am really glad I asked my Mum to come over to help me because it wasnt an easy last five weeks – when Vishal flew I was down with chicken pox (infected by Reva’s virus), then Viraj was down with chicken pox for two weeks. Once he recovered all of us was down with cold flu. On Boxing day Viraj was admitted in hospital for severe wheezing, he was there for two days. I only started my new job and already asking my managers sick leave and work from home. Anyways, MIl is recovering now and I sincerely hope she gets better soon. Can’t wait for my normal life to back again.

Leave a Reply

