Baking (no Soda)

Before I cry about my Baking disaster first I would like to tell you about my special encounter with the one of the contestant of the Great British Bake Off.  Yesterday we went to the grocery store and I saw Jas. I am sure very few of you heard of her or the show. I followed it religiously and I was thrilled her to see next to me. Show was about amateur bakers who love home baking and want to put their skills to the test. It was a nice show and Jas was the only British Asians contestant and I guess she stand fourth in the competition. I even talked to her [I know I am sounding like I saw Katrina Kaif but to me it’s the ground reality and I am happy to see Jas rather than Katrina].

In earlier post I told you about how I liked Gingerbread loaf and wanted to give it a try. So today was the day for baking the Gingerbread. I collected the ingredients a long time before but didn’t get the chance to bake it but today all-stars was aligned but unfortunately in wrong directions. In the morning I declared that I am going to bake The Gingerbread and under the breath Vishal said “finally”. I found the recipe on food-network through a very known blogger, I saw gingerbread in her blog post and was tempted, she also posted the recipe so I prefered to follow the tested one. And the process begins –

One of the different ingredient was Molasses, Molasses is a viscous by-product of the processing of sugar cane or sugar beets into sugar, in hindi called gud and one of the common ingredient was Baking Soda. I always questioned this ingredient. I get conscious about it when I used soda and its quantity in the baking because in the past I had accidents because of its unpleasant taste. Today when I noted soda’s quantity I asked myself is it too much? But being a new recipe and different ingredients involved I thought may be it is required and I neglected my instinct 2nd time. Batter came out good and I placed it in sheet hoping for flying colors in the taste –

But I sensed of the disaster coming as I poked a knife in the middle of the loaf in the oven to check whether it was cooked or not. As I took out the knife the loaf collapsed. It never happened to my baking. Still fingers-crossed I waited to until it is cooked and cold. After 30 minutes or so I started cutting the piece –

Disaster !! And taste yuck !! [bhaanh!!]

It taste salty and bitter because of the baking soda. I was so excited about it but the result was so disappointing 😦

I immediately google about baking soda and found something similar happened to my loaf –

“Too much baking powder can cause the batter to be bitter tasting. It can also cause the batter to rise rapidly and then collapse. (i.e. The air bubbles in the batter grow too large and break causing the batter to fall.) Cakes will have a coarse, fragile crumb with a fallen center. Too little baking powder results in a tough cake that has poor volume and a compact crumb”

Baking soda is used to rise the batter when baked similar to what eggs does. So why Baking Soda ? So I have decided not to use baking soda going forward. I can’t let such disaster happen again.

2 thoughts on “Baking (no Soda)

  1. KKHM

    No soda… thats neat 😉

    Its horrible when people post incorrect measures in their recipes.. makes you want to reach out for thier neck… if only that was possible to do by putting your hand into the computer monitor .. 🙂

    Dont loose heart though and follow your insticts going forward..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

