Last Sunday of the Year

Yesterday we had little fun.  We took a drive in our new car, although we took drive twice but it wasn’t a fun drive.  One was to the hospital for vaccination and the other one was hunt for car seat for little one. But yesterday we really had fun day. Fun really begun on Christmas evening when we suddenly came to know that we are out of diapers for Reva. Being a parent is really living in an adventure, it would have sounded me normal when someone told me that “hey I was out of diaper stock for my baby”, if I would not be a parent but day before yesterday was very much like state of national emergency. Every shop in the city is closed, celebrating Christmas and we had diaper crisis. I don’t know how I missed the stock and I don’t know how diaper had to end on that particular day but it all happened. Luckily I found 3 diapers in my diaper bag but we were not sure whether they would last for 14 hours. And soon in 20 minutes one was down. We checked some stores near us which will opened as early as possible. We suck it all up and spent the night and wake up at 6 AM (by the way no shop opened at this hour).  After making few calls  we decided to go a near by shop which would open at 10 AM and had all the desired requirements of what we need.  We later extended our plan for lunch out because who would have stamina to cook after the store visit. Since it was Boxing Day then why not check out some store. So plan was Store – Lunch – Shopping which would include car drive.

It felt so good when we reach our nearby store in less than 5 minutes. Earlier it took 30 minutes by city bus plus all the hassles of walking, carrying baby stroller, carrying heavy supplies. We reach store, rush to the baby section and pick up the diapers and officially we were done of our requirements but unofficially we had to buy some more stuffs.  After an hour we were done with the Store shopping. In the end we were damn hungry and baby was too sleepy. We headed to high street for lunch and shopping. We decided to go Nando’s for lunch, but were not sure whether the restaurant will be open or not and if it is opened then with baby we would have a messy lunch. As soon as we reach the high street we say the restaurant was opened and as we reached parking lot, baby felt asleep. We had a nice, quite and satisfactory lunch.

Setting the table and waiting for the order. I planned to take the snap of our yummy lunch but could not wait to eat it

I could write a post on Nando’s. For past couple weeks we were planning to go but yesterday it finally happened and we ate to our hearts content. Baby wake just on time. Then we headed to shopping street. Vishal specifically said that we are going to buy just one jacket for Reva and rest of the shopping will be done for ourselves. We ended with Reva’s shopping where we get a good deal on her clothing. As we reach to our store we lost the courage for any more shopping. So we decided to go back. On the way back I bought some earrings for myself, I forgot my earring box in India and for past months I had nothing on my ears so a little shopping for myself and sadly Vishal had nothing. On the way we had hot chocolate and Ginger loaf. I never tasted ginger loaf before, and it reminded me of something tasty my grandmother used to make in winters. Something with saunth (dried ginger), soup or laddoo I don’t remember. I am going to try this one for sure. Oh I forgot I tried Carrot cake on Christmas day, it was good.

Carrot Cake

I found the recipe here. I used normal sugar and no orange zest. The best thing I liked about this cake is its softness. It came out ultra soft. Less flour is used, so you get the real taste of carrots. In the last the spices, my first experience with spices in cake. Like it.

I wanted to click at least one snap of Christmas tree but the battery of our camera went dead. It was not like it went out suddenly, it was flashing for many days but we lazy people. In all we had a good day. We reached home just before the sunset and tucked the baby for nap. Meanwhile we watched Masterchef  India finale. I was quite disappointed to see the last challenge. India is known for its vast diversity of  cuisines and they ended up which French Wedding Cake competition and that to cake was looking disgusting. Cake was ready, its decoration was ready, they just need to make those balls and mount them in a shape – what yaar!!.  For me it was like stage for Akshay to promote his movies and not about food. We were happy to see both the finalist are from Lucknow and wishing Jayanandan to win but Pankaj won. Why our TV shows and movies are larger than life, why can’t they be close to reality and people. Anyways, they are going to same for next 20 years so no point on barking when I know nothing would change.

Lastly I would like to dedicate the song “Don’t Stop Believing” by Journey. I heard it many times but these days I am watching Glee and this song is like anthem song of the show so I am listening it over and over and loving it.

Have a nice time, Cheers.

PS: Please click on “Watch in youtube” link when play the link. I dont know why these days no youtube video are playing in the post.

One thought on “Last Sunday of the Year

  1. KKHM

    Ask the pankajjj..

    Pankaj was so annoying, always acting so confident..
    you can take a teacher out of the school but you can not take out the school out of a teacher. Does that even make sense ?!!
    anyhow.. what i want to say is I really hated to watch her win…

    Jaynanadan with his Baliya ke bahiya jee waali mooch and gaay (cow) type personality was no eye-candy either..! but between the two I would have wanted him to win.

    anyhow..!
    I really dig the peri peri sauce.. it makes living in England almost tolerable..

    Carrot cake looks yummy…

    Nice. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

