Some cents on some Movies

I usually don’t talk about movies much but in last couple of weeks I managed to see some great work which I missed earlier. Thought of sharing with you all. Movies I watched are:

Shutter Island

Inception

Curious Case of Benjamin Button

Inglourious Basterds

I’m not there (still watching)

Shutter Island, directed by Martin Scorsese and starring Leonardo DiCaprio. After watching this movie I become an official fan of Leo and Martin. What a movie, so well-directed and Leonardo did a marvelous job. I could not stop thinking about the movie for 2-3 days which confirms that its a  Martin’s movie. Earlier I saw Martin and Leo’s movie The Departed, it was again good movie but for me it had too much violence. But Shutter Island was just mind-blowing.  Initially I thought Leonardo would be acting in mostly romantic movies, you know after watching Titanic but  The Beach and Catch me if you Can proved me wrong. He is now the finest actor I can say. For some reasons I missed The Aviator but as soon as I finish ‘I’m not there’ I will watch it. What to say about Martin, his movies speaks about him. I watched some of his work like – The Age of Innocence, Gangs of New York, The Departed and have to watch Goodfellas, Taxi Driver, The Aviator. Shutter Island is a psychological thriller and an enticing and engaging piece of work. The ending has such a twist which makes you mad and chaotic.

Inception, another movie starring Leonardo. Directed by Christopher Nolan, Dark Knight fame. Interesting thing I came to know through Wikipedia that Chris Nolan wrote “Inception” script nine-years ago but he did not have experience in any large-scale movies so he worked on Batman Begins, The Prestige and The Dark Knight and prepare himself for Inception [great practice dude!].  Movie is a science fiction thriller. It is based on the notion of “exploring the idea of people sharing a dream space and entering a dream space. Frankly I am still processing and analysing movie’s each and every incidents in my mind. Man ! how they can even think of the aspect of dream invasion, dream extractor, dream architect, dream forger who can change appearance in dreams – hats off to director, writer, actors, cinematographer and even music director. Movie is like a rollercoaster ride to thriller. You move and you miss and sadly I missed a lot. Will give another go to grasp more of it.  Truly a masterpiece.

Curious Case of Benjamin Button, starring Brad Pitt. After Leonardo I am now loving Brad. Movie is directed by David Fincher ( I never saw his movies before, even the Panic Room). Though I find the subject little weird but very well-directed and edited movie, long but worth watching.  I find it similar to Forest Gump.  How old is Cate Blanchett, 40 years something but boy she is looking gorgeous in the movie. She is one of the finest actress and did a very nice job in the movie, though I never liked her and I don’t know why.  Movie is worth spending 3 hrs. Movie is a collection of short stories of Benjamin Button who ages reverse [weird!].  One of the best storytelling ever.

Inglourious Basterds, a fine piece of Quentin Tarantino and Brad Pitt. Quentin Tarantino’s movies has violence but for some reasons I didn’t mind watching violence in this movie maybe because it had tit-for-tat for Nazis. I love the way movie started, how it is narrated, how the climax is built up, I love everything about it even the antagonist Christopher Waltz.  Till now I have seen movies on World War II which portrays the victimization but this is no different except who the victim is. Its like revenge of all the movies based on the tragedy of Nazism. I love the southern accent of Brad Pitt in the movie, also in the Curious Case of Benjamin Button. Years of watching hollywood movies I came to conclusion that southern accent movies are super [maybe I am the last person on the planet that realised it now]. Why southern accent movies are big hit ? Initially it was hard to understand me the accent but now I like it the most, feels like somebody has change the aspect ratio of mouth to max.  Moral of the story is that I super like the movie Inglourious Basterds.

I’m not there, directed by Todd Haynes and starring 6 actors – Christian Bale, Cate Blanchett, Marcus Carl Franklin, Richard Gere, Heath Ledger, and Ben Whishaw. It was released in 2007 and critically acclaimed around the world but unfortunately I never heard of it. I accidentally came to know about it when I was reading Wikipedia article on Cate Blanchett. You know after watching her in Benjamin Button, I was curious about her work. I was reading about her in Wikipdedia and came to know about this movie on her page.  The movie is inspired by great singer and songwriter Bob Dylan. Boy it is the most unusual movie I ever seen. I am still in the watching it.  Before I say something about the movie I would like to tell you how I feel about song and lyrics 3 years back.  For me they purely represent the state of mind, feelings and emotions of one person. Listening to Indian songs is a pleasure but you know they have just one side of face [I hope you are getting my point]. Like movie songs tells you the about the emotions depicted in the movie, Ghazal which is a poetic expression for love whether it is pain of loss or separation or the beauty of love.  Bhajans are devotional songs but have you ever heard of revolutionary songs. Songs for political activism . I never thought singers and song writers can create a revolution in the mass, frankly I thought Western music was mostly based on oneself, they may have different forms and genres of music but all for one reason – self. Thanks to my lovely husband who changed my horse-vision on music. He is one of a kind music lover – from Ghazal to Hard [harder] Rock, Blues to Bhajans. He loves music and under his influence I too get a taste of world music.  He told me about some revolutionary singers like – Bob Dylan, John Lenon, Johnny Cash and many more. I heard Bob Dylan through him but I find his lyrics quite hard to understand and his songs are quite different – they have meaning, have message and I never listened such kind. I tried to listened some like “Like a Rolling Stone” which is best song ever but sigh. So when I saw “I’m not there”  has received many awards under the Cate Blanchett filmography and found that it is based on Bob Dylan life made me interested. I only watched it 1/4th and to my surprise this the most unusual movie I have ever seen, it has a very non-traditional narrative style .  Movie is inspired by Bob Dylan’s important chapters of life and is public feature portrayed by 6 different characters.  Cate Blanchett is also playing the role of Bob Dylan (God, this woman has immense talent). I can not say much about the movie at this point of time but so far I am still hanging on the movie and trying to join the pieces.I am looking forward the end and hoping that someday I would develop the taste and patience to listen quality songs of some most talented artist existed and existing in the world.

4 thoughts on “Some cents on some Movies

  1. Shuchi Singh

    Thanks for the movie reviews. I have been searching for good movies but now, I think I have enough….. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

