Shafqat Amanat Ali

For those who haven’t listened to or heard of Shafqat, just a quick brush up – he sung the song “Mitwa” from Kabhi Alvida na Kehna and “Ye Honsla” from Dor.  You will be wondering whats the occasion or why on earth I picked him to write a post. You see today all music channels, radio channels are flooding the song “Mora Piya” from Rajneeti. The song is getting good response but it never clicked to me and in fact makes me disappointed. Now you will be thinking she must be some kind of classical music geek or something.  I am no classical geek just a regular music lover.  But listening to Rajneeti’s Mora Piya my conscious pleaded me to write this post.  So before moving forward I would like you to listen “Mora Piya” by Shafqat and tell me how do you like it-

Feeling any better ??

Shafqat is one of my favorite singer. Shafqat’s voice represents a unique blend of classical gayaki and contemporary panache.  He is the son of the legendary Pakistani singer Ustad Amanat Ali Khan of Pakistan, he belongs to the nine generation old Patiala Gharana.  He was also the lead vocalist of the popular Pakistani pop band “Fuzon”. He sung the above song when he was with Fuzon.  Have you heard “Ankhon ke Sagar” by Shafqat ? No, then please allow your ears and yourself to get indulge in some peaks of ecstasy and the depths of pain within moments.

So you know why I responded weirdly after listening to Rajneeti’s “More Piya” song.  New song stands no where in front of Shafqat’s song. So instead of criticizing Adesh Shrivastava for his composition and singing, I thanked him to reminding me how melodious is Shafqat Amanat Ali.

Hope you enjoy listening the songs.

Thanks for stopping by.

4 thoughts on “Shafqat Amanat Ali

Leave a Reply

